RSS Feed

Pokeweed

Posted on
Pokeweed

Radnor Reflections, July 25, 2011

I took this picture of Pokeweed last year (jazzed  up a bit with a Polar Distortion Filter background). Today I saw the tiny beginnings of the berries on a plant growing beside the parking lot, and wouldn’t even have recognized it as Pokeweed except for the bright magenta beginning to show in the lower stems. The purple in the berries was used for  ink and gives it another of its names, Inkweed. Most of us know it as Poke Sallet, from the 1968 Tony Joe White song, Poke Sallet Annie. “Every day ‘fore suppertime she’d go down by the truck patch and pick her a mess o’ poke salad and carry it home in a tote sack.” It’s not the cuisine of the upper crust. Annie’s mama was workin’ on the chain gang, and the gators got her granny. Plus,” if y’all never been down south too much”, you might not know to eat only the greens, because everything else about the plant is very poisonous.

Pokeweed

Beginnings of Pokeweed berries

Pokeweed

Stages of the growth of Pokeweed from early white to brilliant red stems and purple berries seen in the background.

3 responses »

  1. That’s a nice clean shot of the beginning of pokeweed berries. It’s good to see different stages of a plant.

    Steve Schwartzman
    http://portraitsofwildflowers.wordpress.com

    Reply
  2. Thanks for finding me. Your informative and beautifully photographed blog is an instant hit with me. Canon has me trained as well, but I need to add the pad to my equipment! Most of my walking at Radnor is with friends for exercise, so I don’t carry a tripod there, and I have to make photo decisions on the run, in order to keep moving. I do stop for all the wildflowers, and have often been frustrated trying to identify them. Two weeks ago we were joined by a knowledgeable gardener ( http://www.clayandlimestone.com/ ) who is making my plant identification life much more enjoyable! I’m looking forward to keeping up with your blog.

    Reply
  3. I’m glad you find my nature blog a hit. The informative component is second nature (play on words): I spent stretches of my life as a teacher. When I started photographing a lot of wildflowers I bought several field guides. I also started hanging out with people who knew the species and could identify them for me; it sounds like the knowledgeable gardener will fill that role for you. As for the pad to kneel, sit, or lie on, the best thing about it is that it costs under $10. The camera equipment is more expensive.

    Steve Schwartzman
    http://portraitsofwildflowers.wordpress.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

